RSS

2017 Reading Challenge

22 Jan

.resized_20170122_170311

Everywhere I look I’m seeing new reading challenges.   I get them on Facebook.  My friends are talking about them.  The library wall is covered with recommendations to meet them.  It seems like 2017 is the year to expand the scope of what readers read.

I look at the lists and mostly think “no problem”.  Sometimes I find a category that would be a challenge for me (like sports).  I haven’t found a category yet that I can’t think of SOMETHING I’ve read along those lines.

Certainly there are genres that I prefer and those I don’t.  I read plenty of science fiction and fantasy.  I read a lot of YA novels.  I’m fussy about the non-fiction I pick up.  I honestly don’t enjoy reading graphic novels.    We are all entitled to our preferences.

The point of most of the challenge lists is to encourage people to expand their point of view.    One of my lessons in 7th grade English was to look at “To Kill a Mockingbird” and try to “put on someone else’s shoes.”   Reading is an opportunity to see the world differently, to have experiences that go beyond the scope of our own lifetimes.

Challenges are supposed to be challenging.  So I decided perhaps it was time to do another year of reviews, in support of all those reading challenges.  I’m going to try and write another 50 reviews.  This time I’ll work to tag them with typical reading challenge categories.

So, if you’re looking for something to fill in that spot in your reading challenge list, I hope this will help.

Happy Reading!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2017 in Reading Challenge

 

Tags:

2 responses to “2017 Reading Challenge

  1. Zen A.

    January 23, 2017 at 10:35 am

    Good luck! This year I trimmed down my reading goal considerably. As much as I hate to admit it, I don’t have much time to read anymore. 😦

     
    • lisaspiral

      January 23, 2017 at 1:55 pm

      Thanks Zen. It’s always sad to find there’s no time to read. I hope you manage to dig some up somewhere!

       

Have you read this book? Please leave a comment.

 
